What to Expect When You’re Deconverting.

Hi! Today I wanted to talk about the deconversion of a fairly prominent Christian, Bart Campolo, and while I’m at it address people who are just now leaving the religion. I’ve been noticing some stuff going on around the internet about people who are newly-deconverted who are maybe wondering what might be coming their way, and I wanted to talk about it. Obviously, it’s a mistake to try to speak for all ex-Christians, but I’ve been out of the religion long enough and know enough other ex-Christians that I can make some generalizations that might be of comfort or reassurance or use. This is not advice; only the ex-Christian him- or herself can know what is the right way to go. Nor is it exhortation; only the person affected gets to decide just how much risk to shoulder and how much is too much right now. Nor do I pretend that what I present here applies to countries with blasphemy or apostasy laws that make deconversion downright dangerous. It’s just the observations of someone who’s been down the road that newly-minted American (and American-like) ex-Christians are just now setting their feet upon.

What’s really amazing to me is that out of all the criticism I’m reading about Bart Campolo, and there is a lot of it, nobody’s really touching on the reason he left the religion: it just wasn’t true. That’s why just about all of us who leave do so. Many people just pull back from Christianity, and their reasons for disengaging are as varied and deep as the people involved. But when someone actually does leave–as in leave leave, as in reject the whole enchilada and walk away–almost always that’s going to be because that person discovered that the religion’s claims weren’t true. Bart Campolo is no exception to this rule. First he got his ass kicked by the Problem of Evil, as indeed many ex-Christians have, then realized that no truly loving god would reject someone for being gay, then began to look seriously at the standard-issue Christian doctrines of Hell and supernatural meddling. Of this process he says: “I started rejecting the supernatural stuff, the orthodoxy. I no longer believed God does miracles or that Jesus was raised from the dead or that other religions were false. . . My Christianity had died the death of a thousand nicks and cuts.” Sound familiar?

And the reaction from the tribe is about what I’d expected; that RNS piece–by Jonathan Merritt no less, who seems like he’s going through a seriously right-wing phase lately, the poor dear; I hope he’s okay–is sharply critical of his decision and speaks about him in extremely negative ways. Other pieces lament how the son of a prominent minister could ever go so wrong and try to advise Christian parents about how to prevent their children from going apostate that way.

Of course, well before his official deconversion he was getting called names like “idolater” and “apostate” by his tribe (donotlink provided). My point is that I don’t think mainstream evangelicals were really happy with Bart Campolo anyway, or for that matter with his father; though Tony Campolo is a fairly standard-issue evangelical in a lot of ways, he’s just not hate-filled and judgmental enough for most of that crowd. Consequently, they’re trying hard to spin the younger Campolo’s defection as some kind of moral failing on his father’s part. If Tony Campolo had just been a TRUE CHRISTIAN PARENT™, none of this would be happening with his son.

A Patheos blogger, Frank Schaeffer, puts it best:

Bart isn’t a Christian anymore so we need to blame his parents (while pretending not to) and improve the way we indoctrinate our kids lest they turn out like Bart or worse yet, like Frank Schaeffer. To do that the first thing we have to do is lie about them, dismiss the backsliders and make sure everyone avoids their books too, while praying for them, of course.

And drop that mic, brother. Well done. That about says it all. Discredit, distance, disavow, defame, and discredit: it’s like the five D’s of Ex-Christianity.

It wouldn’t surprise me at all if some ex-Christians-to-be are observing and taking notes on how their brethren and sistren (damn it, it is SO a word, and I don’t care what anybody says) are treating this newly-flown flock-member. A lot of Christians don’t know any ex-Christians they can talk to during their transition from belief to non-belief, so this kind of public drama is all they’ve got to go on.

So–speaking very generally–this is what a new ex-Christian can perhaps expect.

1. There’ll very likely be some fights ahead, and if there are then you’re going to have to carefully choose which ones you engage in and when. Sometimes you’ll feel like shouting about your new realizations to the sky. Sometimes you’ll be afraid to say a word. In some parts of America at least, ex-Christians get along perfectly fine, and many families won’t care or may even be relieved. But in other areas and among other families, announcing your apostasy can lose you your family, home, and job. Some ex-Christians even report feeling physically unsafe in their communities and with their parents and partners. The more involved you were at church, the more religious your area is, and the more involved your family still is, the more likely it is that you’ll be confronted by people who are still in the religion.

Often after you reveal your truth you’ll discover you were worried for nothing, but only you can decide when to reveal what to whom, and it really is better to be safe than sorry.

2. You might feel a bit adrift at first. When I began questioning my faith, my whole world fell apart for a little while. Especially because I belonged to a really gung-ho fundamentalist denomination, one that officially preached Biblical literalism and absorbed most of my free time and energy, when I realized that its claims just weren’t true I was left feeling empty, like my life was meaningless.

That feeling didn’t last. The funny part is that my life has a lot more meaning now that I’m not a Christian. This life is the only one I know for sure I’ll get. I don’t know if I’ll ever get any other life past this one. So I cherish this one and try to make it count. And I no longer panic about figuring out what a god’s will is for my life. I figure that out for myself, and amend or change it when new information emerges–just like Christians do, for that matter, as if there wasn’t really a god involved in the process at all and we’re all just doing the best we can with what we know.

3. You won’t become an immoral person or suddenly run out and do insanely reckless or nasty things to anybody or yourself. I was worried about that too, but it didn’t turn out that way at all. I’m not perfect, but I can safely say that my fears of descending into madness, lawlessness, malevolence, and chaos did not turn out to be true. I no longer beat myself up for my very human flaws, and my sense of community brings me to a desire to improve myself for the good of myself and my society, not because of the threat of eternal torture for a finite lifetime’s thought crimes.

But a lot of things about me improved after leaving Christianity. I’m a lot more honest, for one. I always tried to be honest, but there were just some things about my religion that required exaggeration or distortion to prop them up–and often I felt compelled to keep silent when my peers or leaders said something that I knew was totally untrue. And I wasn’t honest about my doubts and skepticism because I was genuinely afraid of where that honesty would lead. I’m also a far better “steward” of my resources–after hard-won lessons about money and environmental management that Christianity had studiously avoided teaching.

Do some ex-Christians act out? Yes, sometimes they do. But they don’t do anything that Christians themselves don’t do. That’s because we’re all humans, not divinely-infilled vessels. When we get out from under the thumb of a hugely repressive, oppressive regime, a lot of us do have some rather adolescent acting-out to do. It doesn’t matter if the person escaping from that regime is Christian or pagan or atheist. That said, we’re not going to do stuff that runs totally contrary to our senses of morality. A newly-deconverted person isn’t going to run out and be unfaithful, or kill people, or teach impressionable seven-year-olds in a classroom setting that the fifth major food group is Big Macs (I’ll just mention here that the person I caught doing this last thing was actually an evangelical).

Angry Sphynx

Angry Sphynx cat (Photo credit: Wikipedia). Not shown: Deities. (Seriously, how could I NOT use this photo? How? HOW?)

4. You might be angry for a while. But it won’t be at “god.” After I deconverted, I got very angry about having been so deceived, and to some extent I’m still a little frosted–but I direct that ire toward the leaders who know the real truth about the Bible and still spew lies to their overly-trusting flocks, not toward the rank-and-file believers who don’t know any better. Anger is something Christianity seems very uncomfortable with, especially in women. Christians aren’t supposed to be angry, except at sin of course, but even then it’s supposed to be this sort of “righteous anger” feeling, whatever that means. It might take time to learn new ways to process anger, from recognizing when you feel it to managing it maturely and non-destructively.

A lot of Christians see our anger at this deception and at how Christians themselves act and think that we’re “mad at god.” And they will accuse you of this and expect it to buckle you because how can you possibly be angry at something that doesn’t exist? “AHA! CHECKMATE, EX-CHRISTIAN!” you can all but hear them cackle, because you shall know them by their one-liner zingers. They won’t even realize that they’re the ones stepping on your last nerve, not a supernatural being whose existence has yet to be verified. But we know.

5. You’ll probably lose many friends, but you might be surprised at who remains. I lost every single friend I had when I deconverted. It’s not that they were terrible people; it’s that we’d built our friendships on our shared pursuit of Christianity, and when I left Christianity, there just wasn’t anything left on which to base a friendship. They were like work-friends, and I’d made the mistake of thinking they were friend-friends. It’ll hurt to realize how long it’s been since Robin called, or since Stacy visited, or since you got an email from Terry or a Facebook like from Adrian. All I can say is that you’ll find out quickly who really was a friend-friend and who was just a work-friend. There might be a gaping wound in your social schedule. But if so, you’ll fill it up again. It can be hard to know how to make friends–and how to date, for singles or newly-broken-up folks–outside of a Christian context, but you’ll learn. You won’t make that mistake again, and you will cherish the new friends you make all the more.

But one thing that a lot of ex-Christians say is that they’re pretty surprised by who actually is left standing after the dust settles. And you might be as well. Be watching for the people who accept your deconversion with grace, love, and humor–they’re the ones worth keeping.

6. Some ugly truths about how non-divine your old tribe was might surface. Threats are as natural to Christianity as dough is to pizza and in many of the same ways. But you might not have realized just how natural threats were to it until you are suddenly on the receiving end of blithe, chirpy threats of Hell from people you thought were loving and sane just moments before they spoke. Some of these people put truly disturbing amounts of effort into the level of detail in these threats. And not all of those threats will concern the supernatural or afterlife. Some may well center around your home life, your relationships and family, or your job security. These hateful threats will be uttered by people who are absolutely convinced that they are behaving in loving ways toward you, and who mistakenly think that “tough love” means trying to manipulate and abuse you. Their behavior is going to teach you a lot about just what love really means, but learning this lesson might be the most painful of them all.

That’s why a lot of ex-Christians think carefully ahead about where they’re vulnerable before they go public. When someone steps out of line from the tribe, the tribe is often going to do anything–anything at all–to get that person back into line. I’ve heard some stories that’d simply blow the minds of any Christian to imagine their tribesmates doing–but which are painfully familiar and even repetitive to ex-Christians. For me, it made me realize I’d made the right choice in leaving.

7. You’re going to learn to trust your own inner voice if you don’t already, and eventually you will stop wasting your time on conversations that aren’t actually dialogues.

Many ex-Christians have noticed that the Christians around us rarely engage with the reason we left the religion. They have a lot of theories, most of which will center around the things they think we did wrong–we were too legalistic, or not indoctrinated into theology enough; we went to church too seldom, or we let ourselves get so caught up in church that we forgot about Jesus; the list goes on and on and is often self-contradictory, but the one thing these pet theories share is a total lack of resemblance to what really happened. Just know that these Christians are trying to soothe themselves more than explain anything to anyone. If our walk was too much like their own, then what happened to us could very easily happen to them too. It’s palpable, how truly uncomfortable such Christians are around folks like us. Once they figure us out, once they figure out what we did wrong and what they can blame us for misinterpreting, they can put us on a shelf, get their moment of smug certainty that they’d never go the route we did, then forget about us and feel safer from deconversion themselves.

But “figuring us out” means invalidating our voices, negating our own lived experiences, and discrediting us as people, not addressing our actual reasons for leaving the religion. I mean, they really can’t, can they? Not without producing evidence for their beliefs, and I hate to say this but none of them will have that. All they’ve got is manipulation tactics. Especially regarding conservative Christians, studies have revealed they have a high need for closure and certainty–which means that anything challenging those feelings is going to get shot down as quickly as possible, and also that they have evolved a great number of strategies for dismissing or rationalizing away anything that even gets close to doing so. In time I even learned which strategies I also used to keep myself in line. And I came to treasure all the more those Christians who don’t try those sick, abusive mindgames on me–and you’ll likely run into a lot of those too, in time.

I wasted a lot of time trying to convince people who fundamentally did not want to be convinced that I’d done everything just fine and that the religion had just had turned out to be untrue. I learned eventually that such Christians’ worldview desperately depends upon ex-Christians having done something–anything–wrong. A while ago I heard the phrase “jackass whisperer,” and realized I didn’t have to be one. But it took a long time to understand what I was doing and to realize that it’s not my job to convince anybody I did the right thing or to make anybody comfortable with my personal decisions. Ultimately, others are going to have to make peace with things on their own. And if they can’t, then I don’t have to hang out with them.

Another thing I learned here is that no matter how many hoops I jumped through, how many apologetics books I read, how many videos I watched, how many Christians I allowed to try to reconvert me, to convince other Christians that I’d done enough to “deserve” being “allowed” to deconvert, it would never be enough hoops. I wish I’d learned that truth a lot faster and saved everyone some time.

8. You’re going to be okay. When it’s all said and done, though, you’re going to be left more certain of yourself and sure of your decision. You’re going to understand why you fell into the religion and why you left. Hopefully you’ll be open to examining your old programming and figuring out what you want to keep and what you want to grow out of thinking. For some people moving from point A to point Done takes minutes; for others, it can take years. But it will happen. You’ll emerge older and wiser–a bit roughed up, a bit road-rashed, maybe pared of some friends who weren’t really friends anyway, maybe heartbroken that your relationships weren’t what you thought they were, maybe angry at how you’ve been treated, maybe lighter by a few pounds of the fear, anxiety, and egotism you were maybe lugging, but you’ll be okay. I’ve never once talked to an ex-Christian who’d fully disentangled who ultimately regretted leaving the religion or was sad that they couldn’t believe anymore. As a group, ex-Christians are filled with joy, hope, meaningfulness, values, sincerity, and love. (And wow, do they ever know how to par-TAY.)

So you hear that? You’re going to be okay. Whatever scary or bad thing is happening to you right now or that you fear will happen, it will certainly pass, and you will pass through it stronger at the end just like the rest of us did. You ain’t the first one on this road, and you won’t be the last. Many feet have trod that path ahead of you, so you’re not alone.

You’re going to be okay.

Here is the one piece of advice I will offer: This life might be the only one you’ll ever get, so do the best you can to make it a life you won’t regret living at the end.


ALL IN TOGETHER.

I mentioned today how a lot of relationships get built around a shared pursuit of religion, and next time we’re going to talk a little more about that idea. I hope you’ll join me for another peek into the Unequally Yoked Club.

About Captain Cassidy

I blog over at Roll to Disbelieve about religion, culture, cats, and tabletop RPGs.
This entry was posted in Biography, Guides, Hypocrisy, Religion, The Games We Play and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

24 Responses to What to Expect When You’re Deconverting.

  1. Ripberger says:

    I was never a die-hard Christian, but I’ve been going through the same thing as Bart. The magic and mystery that I had with Christianity has slowly gone away. I’ve been meaning to do a post about it, but it’s a difficult topic to broach. It is depressing at first, but I’d rather be true to myself than live a lie. If it isn’t there, it isn’t there.

    What makes me really angry is the lack of human dignity among the Toxic Christians attacking and badgering Bart. They attack his conscience and beliefs, yet demand others to respect theirs. It dumbfounds and shocks me to my core when someone dismisses another human being when he/she pours out their heart and feelings. I wonder how many “You never really loved the Lord,” or “You will come back because the Lord works in mysterious ways!” e-mails the poor man is getting?

    Like

    • I feel the same way. I was really lucky in that when I deconverted, the unique set of circumstances around it meant I didn’t get too much flack really, but I bet Bart is going through some fireworks now. Jerry deWitt, another minister who stopped believing in Christianity, has apparently been getting death threats–and it seems likely that Bart probably is as well. It’s just so disrespectful and hateful.

      Like

  2. Glandu says:

    Terribly reminds me a few ex-muslims over there. (Clever people might fill the next part of that comment, with analogies).

    Like

  3. SirWill says:

    “Hey boy, come here. Yeah, you, I’m talking to you!”

    “Who, me?”

    “Yeah! I got a deal for ya. Genuine, golden cuffs to show off to the world! They’re quite pretty. Nobody’s complete without a set!”

    “Those look like chains to me. Slave-chains, even. They’re not gold, either. They’re rusty. Is that old blood on the cuffs?”

    “Nono! I’m telling you, they’re gold! Quite comfy, too. You just need to see them in the right kind of light. Let me show you.”

    “Holy crap, man! Those cuffs are digging into your skin. You’re bleeding all over the place.”

    “I find them quite comfortable. I don’t even feel them anymore, and they shine -so- much in the light. The clinking’s almost musical, too! You gotta have a set.”

    “You’re crazy! I’m telling you, I had one like that as a kid. I managed to get out before they cut my wrists too deep. I still have the scars. Why the hell would I want you to clap a new set on me? Oh, hell, those aren’t even new, are they? You just pried them off another poor dead bastard who had them before!”

    “Oh, I get it. You just threw away your old cuffs, huh? Why would you throw away a gift from your parents like that? Don’t you have any heart for them? They gave them to you because they love you, just as I do!”

    “You are insane. You can wear them if you want to, but think for a second before you slap those on your kids.”

    “But our slaving program…I mean, cuff appreciation group has dental! Others don’t have a dental plan!”

    “….dental? You think I chipped my way out of my slave chains over the course of years because I lacked DENTAL!? We’re done.”

    “We have a pool, too! Wait, come back! ……why doesn’t anyone want a free set of golden cuffs?”

    Liked by 1 person

  4. SirWill says:

    …what can I say? I’ve got a fondness for Monty Python skits. Though that came right off the top of my head.

    That’s what it feels like when someone wants me to reconvert to Christianity. Mine was a bit wishy-washy, not so serious, but I thought the Bible was filled with good stuff, stories, fables, and lessons on how to live. When it came to the bad stuff, though, I’d just compartmentalized it. I hadn’t even realized how terrible they were, such as the Plagues of Egypt.

    It took me reading about the parts of the Bible I hadn’t actually read before, and the context of them, to actually break my chains. In the case of Egypt, you could have a case for putting punishments upon the rulers and upholders of the unjust system of slavery. But no justification could make the murder of their children okay. Another thing I noticed is that whenever he’s portrayed in media and adaptations, the Pharaoh always refuses to let the slaves go out of hubris, pride, and stubborness…while the Bible itself says ‘he was about to let them go, then God hardened his heart to make him refuse.’

    So leaving Christianity took me about a minute. Clearing myself of the baggage? That took a bit longer.

    Like

  5. charles says:

    I’m so vain. I bet you wrote this post just for me! Thanks!!!

    Like

  6. Knoxville Freethinker says:

    Great article, Cassidy!

    There’s another angle I’d be interested to get your thoughts on.

    Often, the de-converted that have family and friend networks that are (at least on the surface) strongly religious reach a status of “tolerated*.” (*-read: “grudgingly”). While this is usually preferable to anger, character assassination and threats of Hell, it’s also an incredibly precarious place to be. The unspoken vibe is, “OK, you can make whatever decision you want to, but don’t push it. Go ahead and doubt, but do it quietly and privately.”

    As you mentioned, picking one’s battles is paramount, especially in certain families or regions of the country. If I felt compelled to argue with every “God is sooooo good,” or other trivial expressions of faith, I would probably die of stress. I have no desire to force people into debates and smack down their faith, but the tired old double-standard comes into play– that simply existing as an atheist is “disrespectful” and ever voicing an opinion is “militant.” Thus, any action taken or opinion voiced by the non-believer threatens their “toleration” within the religious ranks of family and friends. Meanwhile, the believers think they’ve done their part–they didn’t scream and call down hellfire on the apostate, and they obviously can’t “accept” that the atheist may have arrived at their conclusions rationally or morally, so what more can they do?

    Like

    • Boundaries are really important, both for the ex-Christian and the still-Christian family. When every single thing you do is seen as an offense unless you quietly let the Christians roll over you, then sometimes you’re just going to have to offend–when not doing so becomes more intolerable than getting rolled over. I know exactly what sort of culture you’re talking about and lived in one myself for a while as a non-Christian. I really think the Christians around us know perfectly well that their views are no longer as universal as they pretend and that their exclamations and whatnot are unwelcome.

      You’re not going to get them to accept you did the right thing, but you can refuse to let them dictate your terms or to dominate/direct a discussion you’re in. “You know that’s not true,” or “I wish it bothered you that you’re wrong about X,” or “Could we please talk about Y instead?” Remove yourself if that doesn’t work. If it’s at work, get HR or management involved. If it’s a relative you don’t live with, walk away or hang up. You’re right: those are battles that only the person involved can pick. About all you can choose is whether or not you hang around people who habitually do stuff like that. And know that just existing is going to be a problem for people like that.

      Like

  7. Dave says:

    My reaction to the negativity I and other newly deconverted get from Christians is to see this as further justification that leaving was the right decision. Face it, most of us were so indoctrinated that when we leave the fold we are still left with lingering doubts about our decision. I always felt that Christians were better people because of their faith but when they act like total jerks to someone who has deconverted it always makes me realize that they are no better and this was just one of my delusions.

    Like

  8. siriusbizinus says:

    Great post!

    I would just like to add that I have felt frustrated when dealing with Christians who think they know more about what I think than I do. Thankfully, I’m starting to find other Christians who are willing to entertain the notion that they’re not infallible. I really do think it’s a crap shoot as far as who you’ll find, because everyone is different. Personally, I know I don’t come out in person to many people because I just don’t want to deal with the hassle.

    That being said, I am looking forward to a future where I just won’t have to care about my non-belief.

    Like

    • Exactly. It’s that whole “word from the spirit” nonsense or whatever they’re calling it these days, thinking they have some kind of divine revelation about someone else’s innermost thoughts; I thought I had that myself when I was in the religion. Had some Christians try that tired routine on me just a few days ago, so I reckon the schtick is still appealing to some folks. Apologetics books/videos are probably quite to blame for the whole thing; they teach Christians that non-Christians are like so, and they mistakenly trust those materials to be accurate because they just don’t know (or care to know) any actual non-Christians. As time goes by, they’ll be less and less able to think that way.

      Like

  9. I scrolled down and saw “Bart Campolo” and went “huh-whaaaa??” *double take* I remember going to Campolo sessions (I think both tony and Bart, but it’s been a while) at the Creation festival with my youth group. I distinctly remember admiring them, the Tony much less so but Bart much more as I moved from conservative Christian to liberal one and then out the door. Then I forgot all about them until I saw this. Wow. I kinda feel like I should send him an encouraging email of some sort.

    Like

    • I think that would be lovely! I’ve heard he’s getting a lot of very unpleasant messages from others. I think he’d find it pleasing to see something supportive. I was out long before the Campolos got prominent, but it must indeed have been strange to see a familiar name pop up there!

      Like

  10. It helped me to remember that most Christian faiths have the incredible virtue of simplicity. We don’t have to understand biology, gravity, or quantum physics! A simple “God does it” suffices for 87% of all inquiries.

    I left in the mid-seventies while living in a small Southern town. There were very few Others who I could turn to; a few peers in high school, an art teacher, and the knowledge that there were people who wrote books.

    What would have become of me if I had not been a lifelong bookworm, used to thinking against the grain? Nothing good, I suspect.

    Like

    • I’ve heard from quite a few others–and can attest to this personally as well–about how religion can destroy and dull that creative, curious spark in young people because of that simplicity. I’m glad you were a reader–that’s a big part of how I escaped as well, I think.

      Like

      • sjl1701 says:

        THIS! I’m also one of those quiet nerdy types who did a lot of reading. I grew up in a small town. I’m sure I read all the SF in both my school library and town library. It was my escape from being too nerdy to be good at sports and too shy to fit in with others. It was books like “Dune”, “Stranger in a Strange Land”, “Rendezvous with Rama” and many others as well as my “best friend for all time ‘Star Trek'”, that got me thinking, pondering and being able to leave the boxes that it seems some parts of society want you to fit in. I was able to stop going to church after high school.

        It was the critical thinking skills I picked from the SF that I applied to a teenage fascination with UFO’s and was able to move from believer to skeptic in the phenomenon. With that conquered, religion was a cinch, lol.

        This is why I am an “evangelist” about SF, all things “Trek” and humanism, because once we get them thinking, we’ve got them.

        Scott

        Like

        • One of my besties in mudding went by the name Rashaverak. I think I was the only one who even knew what that meant.

          I think you’re totally right. All we have to do is make people wonder: Is it even possible something else is the case? Is it even possible I’m wrong? The second I began to think that my religion might be wrong, I was already walking to the door and didn’t even know it.

          Like

Leave a comment